Enter your keyword

Leadership Team

Lauren B. Spraggins, DNP MSN

Dean of Nursing

Lauren B. Spraggins, DNP MSN, is a graduate of the University of St. Francis Leach College of Nursing, where she earned her Master of Science in Nursing Education and her most recent professional degree, a Doctorate of Nursing Practice in December 2022. She is also a proud alumnus of Chicago State University, where she earned her Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

Dr. Spraggins has been a Registered Nurse for 13 years and truly believes nursing is her calling. She began her nursing career at Ingalls Memorial Hospital in Harvey, IL.  Dr. Spraggins has worked in the UrgentAid/ER, on the telemetry unit, and as a Heath Service Nurse at Chicago Public Schools. She advanced to higher education and took on a new assignment at Chamberlain University College of Nursing in Tinley Park, IL as a Clinical Lab Specialist.

In January 2018, Dr. Spraggins joined Northwestern College as a Nursing Professor. In June 2021, Dr. Spraggins was named the dean of the Violet L.  Schumacher School of Nursing.  In addition to her role as the Dean of Nursing, she serves as a member of the Chief Academic Officer Committee and the Academic Leadership Committee. Dr. Spraggins serves as the Treasurer for the Illinois League for Nursing and is a member of Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc.

As healthcare continues to evolve, Dr. Spraggins strives to empower and motivate the next generation of nurses. She is passionate about making an efficacious impact in healthcare.  She strongly believes in making use of innovative technology, research, and evidence-based practice to ensure student success, prepare new graduate nurses for the workplace, and promote positive patient outcomes.  Dr. Spraggins is committed to serving others and leading with compassion.